Ohio National Accreditation Requirement October 2025

The new statutory requirements introduced by House Bill 33 (OhioMHAS presentation summary) require community behavioral health services providers, private psychiatric hospitals, and residential Class 1, 2, and 3 facilities to have the OhioMHAS certification and national accreditation for specific services (see below). OhioMHAS believes (and we agree) that national accreditation guarantees organizations national recognition for offering quality and credible services.

To this effect, OhioMHAS recognizes three bodies for national accreditation: The Joint Commission (TJC), the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF), and the Council on Accreditation (COA). Community behavioral health services providers must select one of these bodies for national accreditation.

  • New providers applying after October 3, 2023, have national accreditation.
  • Providers OhioMHAS certified before October 2023 have until October 1, 2025, to obtain national accreditation.

OhioMHAS site with crosswalks and specifics on programs needing national accreditation.

National accreditation is required for the following OhioMHAS programs:

Assertive Community Treatment, Behavioral Health Hotline, Community Psychiatric Supportive Treatment, Crisis Intervention, Employment Service, General Services, Intensive Home-based Treatment, Mental Health Day Treatment, Qualified Residential Treatment Program, Residential and Withdrawal Management, Substance Use Disorder Services, Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Case Management, Substance Use Disorder (SUD, Qualified Residential Treatment Program (QRTP) for Youth, Therapeutic Behavioral Services & Psychosocial Rehabilitation

National accreditation is optional for the following OhioMHAS programs:


Ohio Specific Services (OhioMHAS will not recognize National Accreditation):

Driver Intervention Program, Consultation, Forensic Evaluation, Mobile Response & Stabilization Service, Peer Run Organization, Referral & Information, Supplemental Behavioral Health Peer Recovery Services

  • ARC LLC compared CARF with the OhioMHAS standards and believes the only additional piece needed for OhioMHAS is 1) The peer supporter is certified and recertified in Ohio. 2) The supervisor undergoes the sixteen-hour online e-based academy courses and four-hour OhioMHAS in-person supervising peers training.

ARC LLC acknowledges that choosing an accreditation body can be daunting, so to help you select the most suitable body for your organization, we will highlight the key features of each body. The Council on Accreditation has made an incredible comparison between the three OhioMHAS accrediting bodies. We have modified it with more details, and it is available for your review and download HERE. 

Ashley Ryan Consulting LLC's team of seasoned experts can guide you through the accreditation process and save you time and frustration! To start today, call (440) 223-3679 or email [email protected].

Receive a Free Consultation Today

Give us a call
Office location
Send us an email

Contact Form

Contact me with any questions​ regarding my consulting services.